Aquatic Plant Management Society


Nominate a Colleague

The Aquatic Plant Management Society presents several awards to members and to others who contribute to the Society and to the field of aquatic plant management. You are encouraged to nominate colleagues who are playing an important role in developing plant control technologies or implementing management strategies. If you would like to nominate an APMS member for an award, criteria and forms are accessible below. Please send your nominations to:
John Madsen, Awards Committee Chair, [email protected]


Honorary Members

Awarded to persons who have been voting members of the Society for no less than ten years, have contributed significantly to the field of aquatic vegetation management, and have actively promoted the Society and its affairs during their membership.

President’s Award

The President’s Award is presented to an individual, designated by the current President, who has displayed “Many Years of Dedication and Contributions to the Society and the Field of Aquatic Plant Management.

2022 – Ryan Wersal
2021 – Mark Heilman
2020 – Rob Richardson
2020 – Bill Torres
2020 – Dave Petty
2019 – Eric P. Barkemeyer
2018 – Sherry Whittaker
2018 – Robert Blackburn
2017 – Jason Ferrell
2016 – Mike Netherland
2016 – John Madsen
2015 – Linda S. Nelson
2015 – Gregory E. Mac Donald
2014 – Bill Zattau
2014 – Dan Thayer
2014 – Jeff Schardt
2014 – Ken Langeland
2013 – Carlton Layne
2012 – Donald W. Doggett
2010 – Steve D. Cockreham
2009 – Richard Hinterman
2008 – Kurt Getsinger
2007 – Bill Culpepper
2006 – Vic Ramey
2004 – Robert C. Gunkel, Jr.
2003 – Jim Schmidt
2002 – Jeffrey D. Schardt
1999 – David Mitchell
1999 – William T. Haller
1991 – Gloria Rushing
1984 – T.O. “Dale” Robson

Max McCowen Friendship Award

The Max McCowen Friendship Award is presented in honor of long-time Member Max McCowen. This award is a special recognition given to an APMS member whose demeanor and actions display sincerity and friendship in the spirit of being an ambassador for the APMS. Criteria include warmth and outgoing friendship, sincerity and genuine concern, gracious hospitality, positive attitude and smile.

2023 – Amy Kay
2022 – Dean Jones
2021 – Todd Olson
2020 – Tom Warmuth
2019 – William A. Ratajczyk
2018 – John Gardner
2017 – David Isaacs
2016 – Ken Manuel
2015 – Steve T. Hoyle
2014 – Tommy Bowen
2012 – Vernon V. Vandiver
2006 – Bill Moore
2002 – William T. Haller
2000 – Paul C. Myers
1997 – John Gallagher
1995 – Judy McCowen

T. Wayne Miller Distinguished Service Award

This award is presented in honor of founding Member and first and only two-term President of APMS, T. Wayne Miller. The award is presented to an individual to recognize “Service to the Society and the Profession.” Considerations include completion of a relatively short-term project taking considerable effort resulting in advancement of aquatic plant management; performance beyond the call of duty as an APMS officer, chair, or representative; or non-member achievement leading to the advancement of APMS goals and objectives.

2023 – Ryan Thum
2022 – Mark Heilman
2021 – Jason Ferrell
2020 – Jeremy Slade
2019 – Robert J. Richardson
2018 – Tyler Koschnick
2017 – Tommy Bowen
2016 – Craig Aguillard
2015 – Jeffrey D. Schardt
2014 – Jim Schmidt
2013 – John Madsen
2012 – John H. Rodgers, Jr.
2011 – Michael D. Netherland
2010 – Amy Richard
2009 – Surrey Jacobs
2007 – Linda Nelson
2005 – Gerald Adrian

Outstanding Research/Technical Contributor

An individual or group recognized for completion of a research project or technical contribution related to aquatic plant management that constitutes a significant advancement to the field.

2023 – Mike Greer
2023 – Ryan Wersal
2022 – Stephen Enloe
2021 – Tera Guetter
2020 – Delta Region Areawide Aquatic Weed Control Project
2019 – John D. Madsen
2018 – Scott Nissen
2017 – Ryan Thum
2016 – Rob Richardson
2015 – John Rodgers
2013 – Mark Heilman
2011 – Kurt D. Getsinger
2010 – Jeremy Slade
2010 – Dean Jones
2010 – Michael D. Netherland

Outstanding Graduate Student Award

A student recognized for outstanding achievement during graduate studies in the field of aquatic plant management.

2023 – Conrad Oberweger, University of Florida
2022 – Jens Beets, North Carolina State University
2021 – Mirella Ortiz
2020 – Gray Turnage, Mississippi State University
2019 – Tyler Geer
2018 – Andrew Howell
2017 – Alyssa Calomeni, Clemson University
2016 – Kyla Iwinski, Clemson University
2015 – Erika Haug, North Carolina State University
2014 – Justin Nawrocki, North Carolina State University
2013 – Sarah True, North Carolina State University
2011 – Joseph D. Vassios, Colorado State University
2010 – Ryan Wersal, Mississippi State University

Outstanding International Contribution Award

An individual or group recognized for completion of research or outreach activities that are international in nature.

2023 – Tobias Bickel
2018 – Tony Dugdale
2017 – John Clayton, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
2016 – Paul Champion, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research
2013 – Deborah Hofstra, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research

Outstanding Journal of Aquatic Plant Management Article

An award voted by the Editor and Associate Editors for research published in the JAPM during the previous year.

2021 – Mark Hoyer, Dr. William Haller, Dr. Jason Ferrell, and Dean Jones: Legacy herbicides in lake sediments are not preventing the growth of submersed aquatic plants in Lake Istokpoga
2020 – Melaney A. Dunne and Raymond M. Newman: Effect of light on macrophyte sprouting and assessment of viable seedbank to predict community composition
2019 – Alyssa J. Calomeni, Ciera M. Kinley, Tyler D. Geer, Maas Hendrikse, and John H. Rodgers Jr.: Lyngbya wollei responses to copper algaecide exposures predicted using a concentration-exposure time (CET) model: Influence of initial biomass. Vol. 56(2) pp. 73-83
2018 – Ryan A. Thum, Syndell Parks, James N. Mcnair, Pam Tyning, Paul Hausler, Lindsay Chadderton, Andrew Tucker, and Anna Monfils: Survival and vegetative regrowth of Eurasian and hybrid watermilfoil following operational treatment with auxinic herbicides in Gun Lake, Michigan. Vol. 55(2) pp. 103-107
2017 – Justin J. Nawrocki, Rob J. Richardson, and Steve T. Hoyle: Monoecious hydrilla tuber dynamics following various management regimes on four North Carolina reservoirs. Vol. 54(1) pp. 12-16
2016 – Greg Bugbee, M. Gibbons, and M.J. Wells: Efficacy of Single and Consecutive Early-season Diquat Treatments on Curlyleaf Pondweed and Associated Aquatic Macrophytes: A Case Study. Vol. 53(2) pp. 170-178
2014 – Michael D. Netherland and LeeAnn Glomski: Mesocosm evaluation of triclopyr on Eurasian watermilfoil and three native submersed species: The role of treatment timing and herbicide exposure. Vol. 52(2) pp. 57-64
2012 – James A. Johnson and Raymond M. Newman; A Comparison of Two Methods for Sampling Biomass of Aquatic Plants. Vol. 49(1) pp. 1-8